Relax, Relate, Release!

It’s raining in Charlotte, so that usually means crazy traffic. Sure enough, I went to leave work around 4:30, and I-485 was backed up in both directions. I decided to just take 521 and drive through the city. I went up Park Rd., then decided I would stop by Healthy Home Market to pick up a snack, and say “hi!” to my favorite vitamin department manager (totally forgot she wasn’t working today. LOL!).

I walked in and there was a table set up, inviting customers to pay $20 for a quick 20 minute assessment on how stress was affecting our physical bodies.

Why not? HH was at the airport with CH, so I had the time.

20121220-200102.jpg
Long story short, the assessment is done by measuring “electrical impulse responses to stress frequencies” which are “tested and measured through a trinary (voltage, amperage, and resistance) software program.” It sounds complicated, but the 20 minute version simply involves putting your hand on a sensor, which sends the impulses back and forth through your body.

I should add here that I’m a firm believer that we can use things in nature – food, minerals, etc. – to head things off at the pass, so that we don’t need drugs and drastic intervention to be healthy. I don’t always do it, but I do believe in it. I think we can lessen our dependence on “big pharma,” but that’s another post for another time.

When it was time to review my profile, Joy told me about my quantum energy profile. The paper describes it as energy signatures that reflect stress markers and reactions to body functions.

20121220-200828.jpg
We went through each of these areas and I wasn’t hugely surprised by what she told me. A lot of the readings that were low were related to emotional tension and lack of restful sleep. I also found out that a lot of what could help me (B-complex, trace minerals, and a daily probiotic, amongst other things) were things I was taking before and I stopped. *facepalm*

She went into a lot of details, but my takeaways were:

  • I need to take better care of me through my diet. I know this, but sometimes you need reinforcement.
  • I need to release emotional tensions more than what I’m doing now. If I can’t get to yoga, I’ve got to find another way.
  • I’ve GOT to get better sleep. More of it, and better quality.
  • Winding down from the day is the key to better rest at night.
  • Stress is no joke.

So, I made a few purchases…

20121220-201340.jpg
…and I’m ready to start 2013 off with a stronger me. The good news is that my body does a good job with the use of water and the ease of water flow. My pH is not bad, and my body is good at processing oxygen and overall oxygenation. I know what my stressors are, I just have to do a better job of managing them, because they are things that won’t change any time soon.

What are some things you want to change, health-wise, for the new year? Better management of stress? Better nutrition? More exercise?

2 thoughts on “Relax, Relate, Release!

  1. Strangely enough, changing jobs has done wonders for my stress. Now nutrition & exercise? Yep, it’s time to get with the program. Nutrition came when the attack of the gallstones happened. I’ve had to modify my diet since then and I figure that I can continue the same, better diet after surgery. Exercise is non-existent in my life. I have this list of barriers that I have identified and I’m trying to find ways to overcome them because I MUST lose weight. Period. When the scale starts creeping towards a number that only existed when I was 9 months pregnant, something HAS GOT TO GIVE. Not to mention I noticed the extra jiggle in my thigh while in the shower this morning. “Why are my thighs still jiggling even though I’ve stopped moving?” *hangs head* Enough is enough.

    • If I could pick my job up and move it to my side of town, that’d be the bulk of it right there. I wouldn’t spend so much time commuting, and I’d have time for other things.m

Leave a comment