Enjoying the Silence

On Saturday, CH had a JROTC event at a grocery store here. I had to drop him off, since HH was gone to the gym. And because he waited until an hour before he had to be there to ask for a ride. But that’s a whole different blog…

Anywho, we got dressed and headed out. I got to the store and as I was putting Lailah in the stroller, I realized I forgot my phone.

At first I was like, “oh, crap. Hope HH doesn’t need me for anything.” But then, it was kinda nice. I felt untethered. No beeping and notifications for email, chat, text messages, etc. 10 second panic that I wouldn’t have my app for St.arb.ucks, but then I realized I always have my gold card in my wallet.

We left the store and went to pick up my Rx that the hospital had called in. I think we were gone for about 90 minutes to 2 hours. It was kind of nice.

Have you ever forgotten your phone at home and panicked? Have you eve unplugged on purpose to enjoy the silence?

4 thoughts on “Enjoying the Silence

  1. I went back for my phone the one time I forgot it on my way to work, but have left it a few times when just making a quick run to the grocery store. It doesn’t make me panic too much, but I don’t have kids. I always figure that if there is a real emergency that I encounter in needing help, someone will arrive with a phone rather quickly. And I also quickly remind myself how many years people got by without having a cell phone.

    But I can’t say I’ve truly ever been disconnected. I don’t tweet anymore, or even read twitter. I rarely look at Facebook. I check Instagram from time to time, but that’s nothing critical. And the majority of my texts are to/from CP about random things, so it doesn’t bother me so much to be without.

  2. I leave mine from time to time when making quick runs or I’ll leave in my purse all day when im with family. During the week while I’m at work tho, I can’t be without it so I’ve turned around to go get it a time or 2.

Leave a comment