2 Minute Gratitude List

The other day, I read a blog on Ten Things Moms Need to Remember. I posted it on my FB page, and several mommy friends thanked me for posting it.

Even though I haven’t said much to friends, or posted much about it, most weeks I feel like I am not getting it right. Lailah is the most precious gift I’ve received, but I have a hard time dividing my days between work, her, HH, CH, and on yeah – myself! I feel like I am getting it wrong almost daily, which leads to at least two people being frustrated. It’s like a rain cloud that just follows me around. It frequently brings me to tears (in the shower, of course, because I feel like I can’t show this frustration to everyone). I’d say that it’s a small cloud, because in the scheme of things I have a ton to be thankful for. But the cloud is still there.

Number 8 on the list of 10 things to remember is “keep writing your gratitude list.” This is something I used to do a lot of. I even had a phone app and a journal app on the iPad. Neither of which have been used much lately. The author of the blog posted a Google docs link to a free printable for completing a 2 Minute Grateful List:

20140207-101515.jpg

You set yourself a timer for 2 minutes, and list the things you are grateful for today. On her blog, she mentioned a lot of little things I don’t even think of. Like coffee. Music playing. Freedom. The sweater she was wearing. The possibilities are clearly endless.

I started writing these earlier this week. My lists are kind of small right now. It’s hard to write a long list when you are feeling frustrated. However, I’ve found in those 2 minutes I feel a little better. I put the list up on the fridge each day so I can look at it when I’m in the kitchen.

At first, I was going to just do this without telling anyone. I wanted to see if I could keep it up on my own. I changed my mind because I figured you guys could help keep me accountable. I know at least two of my Twit.ter friends will harass remind me about the list.

Do you write a grateful list each day or periodically? If not, have you ever thought about trying it?

8 thoughts on “2 Minute Gratitude List

  1. I struggle with writing a gratitude list. I’ve tried in the past, but perhaps I was thinking to grand. I never thought to write simple things like you mention (coffee, music, etc.). Perhaps I need to revisit this and think differently.

  2. Sounds like you’re having a little post-postpartum too. I went through it the 1st few months Jas was here. It’s a pretty hard thing to deal with.

  3. The only thing I can tell you is it will get easier. It takes time to get into a new routine. You have a very full plate. Listing your blessing is a great way to remember all the good in your life. Some days it might just be good coffee but I am sure other days will be fantastic.

  4. I started keeping a happiness journal. I try to write in it every day…try being the operative word. 🙂

    You are doing great with Lailah…every parent worries…which shows you are a great parent!

  5. Thank you for this – I needed to read this on this day. I need to be more mindful of those things for which I am grateful. I may make this a semi-regular blog post.

    I’m sure you are doing a fantabulous job with Lailah. Really. Cut yourself some slack – a lot of it. If you need to talk to someone, please do! Does your job have EAP?

    It gets better. But I’ll be honest, the thought that I’m not doing enough with/for/to LG has never really gone away. I do the best I can on any given day. Some days that’s a bowl of cereal for dinner and me falling asleep before she does…hang in there!

  6. Pingback: Gratitude | Giving Thought | Giving Sight

Leave a Reply

