When You Know Better

You should do better. That’s how the saying goes.

This is on the chalkboard at our gym:

20140114-141339.jpg

20140114-141409.jpg

I am a fairly intelligent person. I tend to err on the side of logic. I like when things add up, and if you can explain something to me logically, I can be all on board.

Except this “clean eating” situation.

It’s a combination of things. Laziness. Not liking to cook (which is not to be confused with not being able to cook, because I can. I’m not Rachel Ray, but I can). HH not eating meat, the teen being a meatatarian, and me somewhere in the middle. Getting used to parenting a newborn. Between food getting eaten before I can get to it (grrrrr. Whole other post entirely), and feeling like I don’t have enough time in the day, I am often grabbing convenience food or whatever I can get my hands on.

I cannot find the motivation from within to do better right now. I don’t know where it is. I also need to work on emotional eating. Frankly, the chocolate cookie makes me feel better about stuff.

I don’t know. I’m just…meh. So many folks I know are great examples of what I need to be doing. I watch them and applaud their efforts.

And then I don’t make any changes.

I will get there. At some point.

Do you eat “clean” or relatively “clean?”

5 thoughts on “When You Know Better

  1. I’m a work in progress, daily.

    I eat relatively “clean.” I’ve tried the entire “clean” eating and it wasn’t something I could sustain. Sorry, but there are some things I will not give up (no matter what). I can make incremental changes (like giving up coke or fried food for a period of time), but those changes aren’t always given up 100% of the time. I gave up coke for a year. It wasn’t as difficult as I thought and I don’t drink it as often anymore, but I still drink it. I’m on day 14 of no fried foods (doing so for month of January). I’m not totally giving up fried foods, but I wanted to jumpstart my year with a bit of a fast. I’m sure I”ll go back to fried foods, but I likely won’t eat it as much (not that I ate it every day, but at least once a week). Like coke, it may be a once a month deal in the future.

    I exercise 4-5 days a week and try to eat healthy, but it’s hard. It’s a daily struggle. I just do the best I can.

  2. I feel you. I enjoy food too much and every time I embark on a journey to clean and change my tastes, I don’t stick with it long enough. It’s frustrating sometimes.

  3. I would not say I eat clean but I do eat better than I used to. That has to count for something. I am a salt girl so when I start craving sugar I know something is out of whack and I do a cleanse to “reset” my palate. Now that I know the caloric cost of some of the foods I love it has become a little easier to reach for the fruit. Plus organic chocolate sounds “clean” to me. 😉

Leave a Reply

