I’m Still Here

You ever have that moment where life reminds you of something that you are already supposed to know?

These last 7 weeks have been a whirlwind now that Lailah is here. This is kind of “old hat” for HH, but she’s my first kid. Me, the woman who said in her 20s that she was never having kids.

We’ve both been so focused on her, we forgot about each other. Like, hello? I’m still your spouse and I’m still here. I need some attention, too.

I wonder is this is something that happens a lot in marriages, when the kids come along. It came to a head the other day when we had a hard, but necessary, conversation about wrongs on both our parts.

Since then, it’s been some of the best days since she was born. We’ve figured out how to share the love between all three of us. We baked a pizza and had movie night last night. On NYE, HH cut off all my hair at my request. That simple haircut became a bonding experience.

CH comes back from NY tomorrow, and I hope he’s got his mind right, because I like my family vibe right now. He’s been informed that he needs to start looking for a job (within walking distance from the house), and that he needs to put in some serious work on the academic front. We shall see.

3 thoughts on “I’m Still Here

  1. Yes, its an adjustment to get back to being a couple when a baby comes. It’s been 4 years and we still struggle! I think the key is to acknowledge that your relationship has changed and then work with it from there! Just remember that you love it other and keep that the focus!

  2. Yes this is a struggle when you have kids. The good thing is that you both sat and had a hard conversation about it. Most couples go for years and not address it. Very mature that you both expressed your feelings. That is hard but it has to be addressed. Your lives will continue to be forever changed, but always go back to the core values that brought you to this point. You’re great parents.

Leave a Reply

