One Month In

Little Miss L is one month old! I can’t believe it. That means it’s almost time for me to go back to work. *sigh*

Yesterday, while she was asleep, I went through my bin of fall/winter clothes. I realized that my new upper body is NOT fitting in anything marked “medium” any time soon. So, all of those sweaters and tops from New York and Company are in a box – they will either go to friends or to a women’s shelter. I can still fit some of my pre-pregnancy jeans, so at least there’s that. *looks down at chest*

Miss L is in charge of all schedules. I prayed to every deity known that she would give me a long stretch of sleep last night. What did I get? Woken up every 2-2.5 hours to nurse. Booooooo! LOL! And what is she doing right now as I type this? Coming up on 5 hours of sleep. Seriously, little girl?

We have been doing a lot of co-sleeping. It’s just easier with nursing. However, I’ve also been trying to get her used to sleeping in her Rock n Play next to the bed (the Pack n Play was taking up too much room, and we need to take it to daycare next month, anyway). She sleeps in it, but fidgets and grunts a lot. The doctor said that’s just normal baby noises. I’ll have to take her word for it. I am wondering when I will stop jumping at every noise. It’s not my intent to co-sleep for a long time, but since we have a split ranch, it will be a couple is months before she’s out of our room and into her crib.

It’s funny to check in on high school friends on FB, and see that their kids are in high school or older, and here I am just getting started. However, that’s ok with me, because looking back on some of the chuckleheads men I dated, I know that I was absolutely not meant to procreate with any of those dudes.

I know that everything happens when it’s supposed to happen, but I sometimes wish that HH and I had had more time to ourselves before CH moved down, and more time being married before we had a baby. We’ve had so many major life changes in a very short time. There’s something to be said for adapting to change!

I never thought that I would be a mom, yet here I am. Every time I look at my little mini me, I’m so glad the universe entrusted me with loving and caring for her.

5 thoughts on “One Month In

  1. I don’t know if you ever stop jumping at every noise – I still really haven’t even done that with my 4-year old! That surprised me about motherhood – you suddenly always have one ear out.

    We kept the baby in our room in the swing for about 3 months and then we moved her on out to her crib. It was thankfully a non-event for her. That can help your sleep get a little bit better because you won’t hear every grunt and groan. It might help her sleep a little better too because you won’t be hyper-responsive to every noise possibly waking her up when is really just transitioning between sleep cycles. I have to admit though, it sucks to traipse up and down the hall for nursing sessions but you get used to it.

    I agree about the FB friends with older kids. It trips me out that they have high schoolers and I have an infant. But, would I have wanted to be 20 doing this stuff instead of starting my life footloose and fancy free? Not.at.all.

  2. you’ll never stop jumping that noises. I sleep pretty heavy but not when my child is anywhere around. It’s just a mama thing. Congrats on making it 1 month. The 1st few are so hard because you’re getting to know your baby on the outside and she’s getting to know you.

  3. I agree with everyone else, you will never stop jumping at noises! Pookah is 4 and I finally got my huband to turn off the monitor. His room in down the hall, and I swear I can still hear a change in breathing in my sleep! Congrats on making it to one month!

Leave a Reply

