History: In Pictures

I remember a time in elementary school and in high school, where I was tasked to do school assignments involving my family tree. I remember hating it each time. Why? We didn’t have an established family tree. Most of the white kids around me had trees that reached back to when their ancestors came to America. We most definitely did not have that.

Now we have Ancestry dot com, and all kind of services that will help you put the pieces together. I have a good skeleton of my mom’s side. I need to get with my Aunt Shirley to work on my dad’s side.

Every time I come home, I like to look through the old photo albums my mom has. She has given us all our baby books to take home, but for some reason my oldest brother’s book is still here. I was looking through and found photos of my grandparents on both sides. It’s so nice to have faces to go with the names. Both of my grandfathers died when I was very young, so I have no memory of them.

20130712-120150.jpgPaternal grandparents

20130712-120226.jpgMaternal grandparents
I can’t wait to print some of these out for display.

20130712-120500.jpgMy parents and my oldest brother, in 1963

20130712-120619.jpgMe and my mom – don’t hate on my muscles…lol

20130712-120716.jpgmy brothers and my auntie

I have found so many today, and I still have more albums to look through. Do you have any old family photos? Do you have a family tree?

3 thoughts on “History: In Pictures

  1. I just joined Ancestry.com and started building my tree. It is so cool to find documents of marriage and the census and burial plots. Every time a new document comes through I get so excited. I’ve only gotten as far as my maternal great great grandmother, but I’m hoping to get beyond that soon. History is powerful, we need to now.

Leave a Reply

