52 Week Money Challenge

So THIS lovely gem was just brought to my attention. A 52 week money challenge to increase savings. It’s geared towards people like me, who feel like we can’t find the room in our budgets. I like it!

The premise is that each week you deposit the amount of money equivalent to the week number, as shown below:

20130103-105952.jpg
(Photo courtesy of linked website above)

See what just happened there? $1,378 in your savings by 12/31. Winning! I am going to show this to HH and see if he wants to do it as well. I think we can get it done. Then that’s $2,756 for our household for emergencies, etc.

I know most of the people I follow via blogs and social networking are already good with savings, investments, etc., but I need to get back on track, and you gotta start somewhere. If you don’t have a plan for liquid savings, maybe consider this one. You can’t get from A to B without taking the first step. 🙂

19 thoughts on “52 Week Money Challenge

  1. I’m doing this as well. It seems so easy. I bet the bank is going to look at me like I’m crazy when I open up this account.

  2. Ive been seeing this floating around and I really like it. We have a savings acount already but I’m wondering if I can use my emergency stash ING account to push money too..It’s just sitting there and I haven’t been pushing money to it..

  3. I came across this on IG and immediately thought, yea I’m SO doing this! I get paid bi-weekly so I just need to budget to make sure I make a weekly deposit. I think this is a GREAT idea. I’m IN!

  4. I love this idea!! Last year did $50 every 2 weeks but this plan advances it by $178 with less sacrifice every two weeks. I really like it and will show it to hubby too as we were talking about a new savings plan option for 2013

  5. Love it! We did $50 every 2 weeks last year but this plan beats that one by $178 and with sacrificing as much on the front end. Will share with hubby as well as we were talking about upgrading our savings for 2013.
    & we have an ING account too 😉

  6. Pingback: I’m Rich, Bi-atch! « My life as Disco Diva!

  7. Pingback: One Thousand Three Hundred Seventy Eight | Babs in Blogland

  8. I’m gonna do this! Our joint savings is set up for an automatic transfer already. My personal savings is set up for one but I seem to never stick to it or keep it there. I’m going to do this one instead!!

  9. Pingback: 52 Week Money Challenge – check in | Cohabitation Chronicles

  10. Pingback: Odds And Ends: The Tuesday Edition « No longer unemployed, no longer a bride…

Leave a Reply

