Winding Down

Today is the start of week 11 of training with Tri It For Life. I can’t believe it. 11 weeks ago, if you had told me I’d be in love with biking or that I’d be swimming in the 17 foot end of the pool, I would’ve thought you were crazy. 15 weeks ago, I hadn’t been on a bike in 18 years. I tried to get on after purchasing it and could barely mount the dang thing.

Yesterday was my last brick training with the ladies. I’ll be in NY for my sister-in-law’s wedding this upcoming weekend. Today was my last 2 hour Sunday swim session, for the same reason. Week 12 is pretty much a taper week. There are no scheduled group training sessions. We do get a restorative yoga class on the 19th, and then on the 21st we have our celebratory dinner. I am looking forward to that! It was kind of sad to have these “lasts” this weekend, but now that I’ve befriended some of these ladies on FB, they can’t get rid of me. LOL! I hope that we will continue to hit each other up for bike rides and swim sessions.

HFFA offers a discounted membership to TIFL members, in exchange for us giving some volunteer hours at some of their meets. I can definitely do that. I am thinking about signing up, even though we have our Anytime Fitness membership, just so I can have the pool access. When AF expires, we are dropping them like hot cakes. We can do everything we need at HFFA.

I am also winding down on my studies for my first CPCU exam. On Friday I’ll be taking the 85 question exam for CPCU 500 – Foundations of Risk Management and Insurance. My company gives me the day off for the test. I thought I was done with Prometric testing centers after I got my adjuster’s license, but I guess not! I’ve been taking review quizzes this week, and performing as I expected. The chapters I read weeks ago, I need to go back and review. I wrote down the subjects of the questions I got wrong so that I’ll have something to focus on. The study guide comes with a code for me to complete a free practice exam, so I’ll do that Wednesday or Thursday.

These quizzes remind me of why I hate tests. Those “all of the following are true EXCEPT” or best-answer type questions drive me bananas. I have to remind myself to slow down. A couple of times I picked the wrong answer because I skimmed through the question too fast. How they are going to squeeze 8 chapters of info into 85 questions, I do not know.

Once I finish this test, and we get back from the wedding, we’ve got to dive head first into packing for the move. This should be interesting, because HH wants to handle the move himself and not hire movers. I’ve stepped back and let him be in charge of this project. Pray for us. LOL

The scale went down a couple of pounds the other day, and now I’m uber-paranoid about it going back up the other way. If I had to guess, I’d say the increased swimming is responsible, because I know I could’ve done much better on my food choices. I tell ya, if I had a chef I’d be svelte.

I am so looking forward to October! I have my tickets to the Panthers/Cowboys game on 10/21. We’ll be moved to the new house and CH will be moved to his new school. I’ll be done with Tri training and taking a small study break before my next CPCU test. Basically, October will be one big WOOSAH.

What’s new with you?

6 thoughts on “Winding Down

  1. Your schedule has ME doing a WOOOOOOSAAAAAAAAAH. Lawd-T! But it’ll be over before you know it. Hang in there.

    “11 weeks ago, if you had told me I’d be in love with biking or that I’d be swimming in the 17 foot end of the pool, I would’ve thought you were crazy.”

    I’m still amazed by that. It gives me hope.

    • You’re starting your lessons soon…I think you are going to do great. Not to mention this swimming/kicking is good for our janky knees. Just make sure the instructor works at your pace and doesn’t push you too fast.

  2. Every time I read one of your tri posts or tweets I feel not only like I need a serious goal to work toward, but also like I want to do one, too! I never would have dreamed it, but your perseverance and dedication are nothing short of awe-inspiring and motivating.

    (LOL)

    I laugh, but I’m serious. I’m so proud of you I can’t even express it without sounding like a total cheeseball

    • Awwww, thanks! You guys have encouraged me along the way. I k ow its hard to imagine that fear of water if you can already swim, but it’s pretty epic. I’m glad I had this race to push me into working on it.

      Do it! If you decide to do one, and it’s feasible, I’ll come down and cheer you on. 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m so glad this test is multiple choice. It used to be essay. I’m pretty good with multiple choice as long as I have a general gasp on the material.

Leave a Reply

