Moving Right Along

Hey peeps!

My sprint tri is in 4 weeks, folks. 4 weeks! This Sunday, we will do a mock tri. It won’t be timed, but it’s there to help us see where we are, so we can spend the last four training weeks tweaking whatever needs to be tweaked. I’ve been able to swim my 250 yards on my back. At this point, it’s just about working on endurance, and maybe working on regular freestyle. We shall see.

CH is settling in nicely. I know he’s bored to tears right now, but school starts in a week. Not to mention, we’re moving at the end of September, so he’ll have plenty to do as far as helping us pack and clean. I don’t think I mentioned it on here before, but the high school we’re zoned for pretty much sucks. I’ve been jokingly calling it Fair Eastside. We’re incurring the moving expense and even longer work commutes so that his education won’t suffer.

So, yeah…I’ve added ANOTHER thing to my plate. Sigh.

Speaking of school, CH’s bus is coming to get him at 6:24am. Yikes! He claims he’s a morning person, but I remember being in NY and HH having to wake him 2-3 times and get him going in the morning. I’ve made it clear that I am not going to be chasing him around in the mornings about getting up for school. When I was in school, my mom worked nights and my dad would be asleep in the mornings. I woke myself up, got dressed, ate breakfast or purchased at school, and kept it moving. His school is not really on my work commute, so I need him to be on point. The Altima is not a school bus substitute.

20120822-095018.jpg

LOL!

If you follow me on twitter, you know that on the 12th we celebrated my granny’s 100th birthday! She is still sharp as a tack, just can’t see well due to cataracts. Her sarcasm and comedy buttons still work well. She is a character, peeps! I kind of wish she could see better, so she could see how much my brother favors my dad.

20120822-100127.jpg

20120822-100207.jpg

20120822-100306.jpg

We had a great time, and I met some cousins that I hadn’t met before. I’m hoping we can organize a family reunion at some point, and I also want to work on the family tree on that side.

What’s new with y’all?

4 thoughts on “Moving Right Along

  1. I’m on the tail end of a month with SS. He’s been here all of August. It actually got better as the time went on. I’m ready for Buddha to start school. Like ta-now. The new gig is going GREAT! I love, love, love it!

    • Yay! This blended family thing is something else. It’s a real stretch for me because it’s been ME for most of my adulthood. Now I have an extra person to entertain and worry about his well being.

      Glad you are enjoying the new gig. 🙂

  2. So excited for your Tri! I wanted to do one this year but couldn’t get proper training. There’s one I want to do in may so it’s just a dream deferred and gives me plenty of time to get ready!

    I love the way they are doing the practice so you know what to focus on. Seems like all you ladies will do very well.

Leave a Reply

