Promoted!

Today we had swim training from 1:00 – 2:00 pm. I had it in my mind that I’d work on my side swimming without the kick board. I figured if I could manage that in the shallow pool, then I’d have the guts to get into the big pool.

For those who aren’t familiar, this is a kick board:

20120701-152558.jpg

Me and the kick board are like ebony and ivory. Yin and yang. Cephus and Reesie. If I have that thing, I can successfully side kick, front kick, everything. If I get tired from not taking in enough oxygen, the trusty kick board holds me up.

The times I’ve tried to side kick without the board, I’ve sunk. Sunk and stunk. So, yeah.

Today when I arrived, Ms Adrienne came into the shallow pool and was like, “lemme see your elementary back swim.” Lemme just say this is the only one I can do without the kick board. So, I swam down and swam back and she was like, “yep, you’re ready for the big pool!”

Damn.

Lemme tell you, I got in that big pool (which is six feet deep at its most shallow end) like, this is not life! But then they said we could do the warm up drills with the board. OK, cool. I set about kicking down 25 yards on my back, coming back down on my left side, going down again on my right side, and returning with the front kick and blowing bubbles. I was supposed to repeat that sequence three times as a warm up (!!!), but because I started late I only got to do it twice.

Then they said, “now we want you to practice your side kick and putting your face in the water, and them rolling back out to the side. But you’re going to do it without the board.”

*insert scared sh*tless face here*

Do what now? Let go of the board? Noooooooooooooooooooooo. Me and the board go waaaay back. Way back. LiKe babies and pacifiers.

So they took my board. I was sad.

20120701-153727.jpg
“me and you, us neva part…”

And just as I suspected, I SUCK without it. But I didn’t drown. So, that’s a step in the right direction. LOL! Ugh.

I’m going to see if HH will come back with me tomorrow evening, and after I warm up with the board, I will have him work with me on my swimming without the board. We also have another swim session set up at a different pool on Thursday, with two ladies who are very good swimmers and teachers.

We shall see. As tired as I am during warm ups, I don’t know how I will race 250 yards, but I’ll get it done. Yesterday at our brick, Heidi told us that if we really can’t do it, we have a relay option (we’d have to pay more $), but a mentor could do the swimming portion for us. I really don’t want to use that option, though. I want to be able to do the whole thing.

2 thoughts on “Promoted!

  1. Congrats on being promoted! Good job! And you will be able to do the WHOLE thing on your own; don’t even sweat it. TRUST THE TRAINING and keep up the good, diligent work! You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

