Day 9: A Favorite Pic of your Best Friend

Well, I’m cheating a bit, because there’s more than one in this pic…but this might be one of my favorite pics of my BFFs:

20120510-222547.jpg

When we took this trip to Vegas, we were all 35. By that time we had known each other for 25 years.

A quarter century.

It’s hard to believe! Who knew what would happen that fateful 5th grade year, when we all ended up in the same class? Me, a shy 10 year old who was new to public school. I had spent the first 5 years at Catholic school, usually the only little black girl in the class. At public school, I became the “you talk like a white girl” girl. But my BFFs embraced me, and that was all I needed.

We’ve had our ups and downs, but at the end of the day, I know these ladies would step up if need be. On March 29, after I got engaged, I contacted my mom and siblings. And then these three ladies were the next to know. They’re like my extended family. If I WAS having a big wedding, they would absolutely be in my wedding party. They will absolutely be at the top of the invitation list. Can’t get married without my girls!

20120510-223322.jpg

It makes me sad when women say they can’t be friends with other women. Yes, there are some catty chicks out here. You just have to push them to the side and find the real ones!

4 thoughts on “Day 9: A Favorite Pic of your Best Friend

  1. Love that picture, Cassandra! I bet you had a *LOT* of good times together!

    No matter what romantic relationship, absolutely nothing can beat women friends! They understand everything (esp. all that a guy never could)! And they are excited about the same stuff! And loyally mad at whoever disturbs your life, etc…

    🙂 Marion

Leave a Reply

