Day 2: Nicknames

I don’t have a lot nicknames. I have noticed lately at my new job that people are itching to shorten my first name. I’m not sure why. It’s not like its hugely long or difficult to pronounce.

I don’t know why, but as a child I hated the name “Cassie.” I can’t stand for people to try to call me that now, either. I cannot remember what the trigger was, but I just don’t like it. Hate the way it sounds. Hate it. And it seems to be the FIRST name derivative everyone goes for. Why? LOL

It’s a daily struggle for my unit leader to NOT call me Cassie. Bless his heart. But he tries, so I forgive him whenever a “Cassie” slips out.

As for some other names I go by, in my circle of family and close friends:

CASS: this is what my family called me growing up. I don’t think my mom ever called my whole name unless I was in trouble. Then she’d call first and middle name. LOL! My siblings and close friends call me this as well.

DOLLY: when we were younger, my dad used to call me and my sisters his Dollies. I don’t know why, where it came from, never got to ask him. So now, my sisters and I all call each other Dolly. My oldest sister is “Big” Dolly, next oldest is “Middle” Dolly, and I’m “Little” Dolly. It helps us to distinguish who we’re talking about when we’re on the phone.

PUMPKIN: HH started calling me this early on in our relationship. I’m not sure where he got it from or why, but it just stuck. I always love to hear him say it.

But yeah…if you want to start on the wrong foot with me, it would be by calling me “Cassie,” 4 minutes into meeting me. LOL!

7 thoughts on “Day 2: Nicknames

    • LOL! But it’s a running joke with us…not like you just met me and decided youre just gonna change my name. One year my alma mater started sending me letters with “Dear Cassie” and I was like, who DOES this? How do you just shorten someone’s name without asking them if it’s ok? LOL! I got a letter from another insurance co pay at work once, and the rep had shortened my name to Cassie. Needless to say, he got a scathing (but professional) response.

  1. I’ll apologize for my husband because no matter how many times I try to say “Cass”, he still says “Cassie” when he refers to you. Sorry….

Leave a Reply

